Who Do You Call?

Home Upcoming Industry Events Association Information Legislative Updates
Research Updates Newsletters Who Do You Call? Contact Us


Below is a listing of potato industry researchers; college, state & association representatives that can provide expertise and knowledge about issues. For a complete listing including addresses please contact Melanie Wickham, Executive Director ESPG 585.526.5356 or mwickham@nypotatoes.org.

Breeding/Potato Varieties
Walter De Jong, Associate Professor
Cornell Univeristy
(607) 254-5384
Fax: (607) 255-6683
wsd2@cornell.edu

College of Ag & Life Sciences/Cornell
Kathryn Boor, Dean
(607) 255-2241
Fax: (607)255-3803
kjb4@cornell.edu

Beth Ahner, Senior Associate Dean
(607) 255-4677
baa7@cornell.edu

Legislative Issues pertaining to CALS
Julie Suarez, Associate Dean
(518) 434-4157 / (518) 728-6061
jcs433@cornell.edu

Gary Bergstrom, Department Chair
School of Inegrative Plant Science,
Cornell University
(607) 255-3245 / (315) 787-2331
Fax: (607) 255-4471
gcb3@cornell.edu

Diseases
Sarah Pethybridge, Ph. D.
Assistant Professor
Cornell University
(315) 787-2417 / (315) 744-5359
sjp277@cornell.edu

Christine Smart, Professor
Cornell University
(315) 787-2441
cds14@cornell.edu

Seed
Keith Perry, Associate Professor
Cornell University
(607) 254-8243 / (607) 255-9744
Fax: (607) 255-4471
klp3@cornell.edu

Phil Atkins, NY Seed Improvement
Project, Cornell University
(607) 255-9869 / (607) 423-5974
Fax: (607) 255-9048
pma3@cornell.edu

CCE Long Island
Sandra Menasha, Vegetable/Potato
Specialist
CCE-Suffolk Co.
Phone: (631) 727-7850 / ext. 316
srm45@cornell.edu

Margaret Tuttle McGrath
Long Island Horticultural Research &
Extension Center
(631) 727-3595 / ext. 20
Fax: (631) 727-3611
mtm3@cornell.edu

CCE Southern Tier
Stephanie Mehlenbacher,
Horticulture Community Educator
CCE-Steuben County
Phone: (607) 664-2307
sms64@cornell.edu

CCE Central/Western NY
CCE – Vacant

CCE Capital District/Eastern NY
Charles Bornt, Extension Educator
CCE Eastern NY Commercial
Horticulture Program
(518) 272-4210 / (518) 859-6213
cdb13@cornell.edu

GN Quarantine
Daniel Kepich, USDA-APHIS
Officer in Charge, PPQ
(607) 566-7059 / (607) 769-0152
Fax: (607) 566-2081
daniel.j.kepich@aphis.usda.gov

Insects
Brian Nault, USDA-ARS
Professor, Department of Entomology
(315) 787-2354 / (315) 521-6315
Fax: (315) 787-2326
ban6@cornell.edu

Viruses
Stewart Gray, USDA-ARS
Research Plan Pathologist
Cornell Univeristy
(607) 255-7844
Fax: (607) 255-2345
stewart.gray@ars.usda.gov

Golden Nematode
Xiaohong Wang, USDA-ARS
Research Molecular Biologist
Cornell Univeristy
(607) 255-3518
Fax: (607) 255-7845
xiaohong.wang@ars.usda.gov

NYS Potato Issues
Richard Ball, Commissioner,
NYS Dept. of Ag & Markets
(518) 457-8876
richard.Ball@agriculture.ny.gov

NYS Potato Issues
Jackie Czub, Deputy Commissioner
NYSDAM
(518) 485-7728
jackie.moodyczub@agriculture.ny.gov

Christopher Logue
Director, Division of Plant Industry
NYSDAM
(518) 457-2087
christopher.logue@agriculture.ny.gov

National Legislative Issues
John Keeling, VP-CEO
National Potato Council (NPC)
Phone: (202) 682-9456
Fax: (202) 682-0333
johnk@nationalpotatocouncil.org

Ralph Child, NY Representative
NPC
Phone: (518) 483-1239
rchild@childfarm.net

National Promotion Issues
Blair Richardson, CEO
POTATOES USA
(303) 369-7783
Fax: (303) 369-7718
blair@potatoesusa.com

Chris Hansen
NY Representative
POTATOES USA
(585) 322-7274
chrishansen@mccormickfarms.net